USGenWeb Project

Clinton County, Michigan
Clinton County Maps

USGenWeb MIGenWeb Research

Research information is provided by volunteers like you! Please contact the site coordinator with questions, suggestions, corrections, and contributions.


Townships and Sections

Clinton County is divided into the following sixteen townships.

Lebanon Essex Greenbush Duplain
Dallas Bengal Bingham Ovid
Westphalia Riley Olive Victor
Eagle Watertown DeWitt Bath

Each township is divided into 36 sections, where a section is one square mile.

By applying property descriptions to the sections in the township and the breakdown below, you can pinpoint your ancestor's property.

Sample breakdowns of a township and section:

Figure A
Land Descriptions
Figure B

Sample property descriptions from Figure B above:

1. Northwest Quarter - 160 acres.
2. E 1/2 of SE 1/4 - 80 acres.
3. E 1/2 of W 1/2 of SE 1/4 - 40 acres.
4. W 1/2 of W 1/2 of SE 1/4 - 40 acres.
5. NE 1/2 of SE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 20 acres.
6. SW 1/2 of SE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 20 acres.
7. SE 1/2 of SW 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 20 acres.
8. NW 1/2 of SW 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 20 acres.
9. E 1/4 of E 1/2 of NE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
10. W 1/2 of E 1/2 of NE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
11. E 1/2 of W 1/2 of NE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
12. W 1/2 of W 1/2 of NE 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
13. S 1/2 of NW 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 20 acres.
14. NE 1/4 of NW 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
15. NW 1/4 of NW 1/4 of SW 1/4 - 10 acres.
16. E 1/2 of SE 1/4 of NW 1/4 - 20 acres.
17. W 1/2 of SW 1/4 of NW 1/4 - 20 acres.
18. SW 1/4 of NW 1/4 - 40 acres.
19. N 1/2 of NW 1/4 - 80 acres.

Plat Maps

1855 Mid-Michigan Map
1864 Plat Maps
1873 Atlas of Clinton County
1895 Westphalia Twp.
1896 Standard Atlas of Clinton County
1915 Atlas of Clinton County

Judy Thelen scanned Clinton County's plat maps for the year 1864. These maps are donated by the Clinton County Historical Society. Many thanks to both Judy and CCHS.

The maps are in PDF format, this will allow for smaller files. It will also allow for zooming in with much clearer resolution than any GIF or JPG file. You will need to have the Adobe Reader to view these maps. If you do not already have it installed on your computer, you can download it free from Adobe:

If you find the maps slow to load and work with online, save the map to your computer. Place your mouse cursor over the link to the map you want to save. Right click on it. From the menu that pops up, choose "Save Target As." It will give you a choice as to what name to give the file, and which directory to store it in. After either filling the information in, or accepting the default choices offered, press enter. The file will now be stored on your computer. You can then study it or print it offline at your leisure.

(Townships are listed as they appear on the map.)


Copyright 2000 by Clinton County Historical Society. This copy contributed for use in the MIGenWeb Clinton County pages.

MIGENWEB NOTICE: These electronic pages may NOT be reproduced in any format for profit or presentation by any other organization or persons. Persons or organizations desiring to use this material, must obtain the written consent of the contributor, or the legal representative of the submitter, and contact the listed MIGenWeb archivist with proof of this consent. The submitter has given permission to the MIGenWeb to store the file permanently for free access.

Index to
1864 Map
An index to the 1864 map is stored at the MIGenWeb Archives.

Notes about the 1864 maps and index:

These maps are scanned from a copy of the 1864 map in the possession of the Clinton County Historical Society. The original is in the Library of Congress map collection.

The original map is not divided into separate townships as it is presented here. Rather it is one large map about 36" wide by 44" tall. Gratiot County appears at the top of the map and Clinton County below it. It is presented here township by township for ease in readability and downloading.

These maps were scanned not from an original, but from a copy of the original. Some parts simply did not scan well, so the index is critical in using them.

A copy of the map obtained from the Library of Congress also includes small insets for the villages of St. Johns, DeWitt, Emmonsville, Westphalia, Maple Rapids, Ovid, Bath, Elsie, and Greenbush. These will be scanned and added later when the names mentioned in the "business directories" below each can be added to the index.

The map was originally indexed by Wilma Sowle for the Clinton County Historical Society. The names are included as they appear on the map, not as they might be known to present day descendants. Therefore someone searching for Droste might also check out Troste to see if there is a possible connection. And a search for Dunnebeck should check out Dinnebeck and Dennebeck. Please remember that even the copy of the map in the possession of the Historical Society is difficult to read, and therefore the index may contain errors. In addition, while checked carefully for errors, the retyping of the index into database format could also lead to inadvertent errors.




Revised: August 22, 2017
Site Coordinator: Wayne Summers